Skip to content

My Age and Getting Divorced

July 28, 2011

Within the last month, I have seen one of my cousins and one of my husband’s cousins split from their wives. I’ve seen a few other divorces of people my age in previous years: one of my female cousins many years ago and two of my college classmates a couple of years ago. Every time I see a divorce, though, of someone close in age to me, it seems so weird. I don’t feel like I am in the stage of life where friends and cousins are getting divorced. I know half of all marriages end in divorce, so it’s really not surprising, other than when no problems were seen in the relationship. I guess I just think of people my parents’ age when I think of couples getting divorced.

I have no idea of what to say when I see either of these cousins. We’ll see my husband’s cousin next month. Sorry… for the loss of your marriage? … for the breakup? It was for the best. I’m sure you knew that no one liked her or the way she treated you and we were all anticipating this would happen at some point!! (Yeah, probably not that last one.)

Just as some people my age (and younger) have moved on to the parenthood stage of life, many are going to move onto the divorced stage of life. I can picture myself as a parent, but not divorced, and I hope it never comes to that.

Divorce was not listed as one of the characteristics of adulthood, but I would think if you have gone through that you should be mature enough to be real adult. Unfortunately, I now this is not the case for some people who enter their first marriage young and then want out of it. It’s sad, but in most these cases, that I have seen, there are no children between the couple.

Marriage is a real blessing, but it takes a lot of work on the part of both people and checking out is probably not that hard to do.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

