Skip to content

30 before 30

July 27, 2011

A few months ago (well actually over a year ago from looking at some of the items,) I started a 30 things I want to do before turning 30 list.  I love lists and setting goals for myself, so I really like the idea of the 30 things lists (that I have seen a bunch of people do.)  I have a little less than two years before I turn 30!, and I think I set reasonable goals, but also ones that will definitely push me to accomplish some things I wouldn’t if they weren’t put in writing.  So onto the list…

30 Things I Want To Do Before I Turn 30

1. Pass the licensing exam for my career field.  Completed April 2011.  (Getting a professional license in my field is really important in my field becasue it is mostly government work and for liability reasons you have to be licensed in the state that you are working in.)

2. Go to Hawaii.  Completed June 2010 on my honeymoon!

3. Get a second dog.  Completed December 2010 when we adopted BB.

4. Go to Jazzercise.  Completed Summer 2010.  (I got a free pass for a few classes.  I really liked it but we decided to join a traditional gym, so I can’t justify spending the money on different workout classes.)

5. Write a thesis.  (Goal is for October 2011 so that number 6 can happen in December 2011.)

6. Get Master’s degree.

7. Go to Utah or the Grand Canyon.  (I want to combine this with number 8 in April or May of 2012.)

8. Go to Las Vegas.

9. Run a 5k.  (I am currently doing the Couch to 5k training plan – just finished week 8 and signed up for a race benefiting the Melanoma Research Foundation in two weeks.   The last 5k I did was Race For The Cure in 2005…)

10. Get my carry permit.  (to have legally carry a concealed handgun…)

11. Go to New Orleans.  (Hope to do this in November 2011 when my husband has a work conference.)

12. Get pregnant.  (My goal is in November/December of 2011 but I don’t quite think my husband is all for that soon of a timeline.)

13. Stay pregnant into the 2nd trimester.  (I had a miscarriage a couple years ago, and this will be a big milestone.)

14. Go skiing.  (I think this goal is going to be the hardest to acheive.  I spent every winter skiing until I went off to college and haven’t been since then.  I am so sad about that.)

15. Weigh 125 pounds.  (This is lofty, maybe I should change it to fitting into a size 6.)

16. Visit my undergraduate alma mater.  (I haven’t been in 5 years and would like to see it before too long.)

17. Go to the Ornamental Metal Museum.

18. Save an 8 month emergency fund.  (per Suze Orman’s reccomendation.)

19. Get my hair cut short.  (I usually get tired of long hair and thought I for sure would have gotten it cut by now, but I am liking it.  I may have to force myself to do this one.)

20. Color my hair.  (Auburn is what I want.)

21. Start a personal blog.  Completed July 2011.

22. Get a professional certification for my specific area of work.

23. Meet up with my college girlfriends.

24. Do a Rosetta Stone language program.  I am thinking French, which is what I took for four years in college and one quarter in college.

25. Take public transportation to get somewhere in my city.  (Hopefully I can get my husband to do this with me.)

26. Go to New England.

27. Go to a summer movie at the Orpheum, my city’s historic downtown theater.

28. Go to the Zoo.

29. Go to a country concert downtown.  Completed July 2011.

30. Surprise my husband with something.  Completed July 2011 with an overnight trip out of town and going to a comedy club.

I will update this as I get more items completed.  Next month I will get a few of these completed.  🙂

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

